Holistic. Health. Counselor.

When I tell people I’m a Holistic Health Counselor, I’m sometimes met with a blank stare. I have to admit this is a bit strange for me because holistic health makes so much sense to me that I cannot understand how others don’t get it. And that makes it hard for me to explain. But I think maybe this is the way:

From the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary:

Holistic

Main Entry: ho·lis·tic

Pronunciation: \hō-ˈlis-tik\

Function: adjective

Date: 1926

1 : of or relating to holism 2 : relating to or concerned with wholes or with complete systems rather than with the analysis of, treatment of, or dissection into parts

Health

Main Entry: health

Pronunciation: \ˈhelth also ˈheltth\

Function: noun

Usage: often attributive

Etymology: Middle English helthe, from Old English hǣlth, from hāl

Date: before 12th century

1 a: the condition of being sound in body, mind, or spirit ; especially : freedom from physical disease or pain b: the general condition of the body 2 a: flourishing condition : well-being b: general condition or state 3: a toast to someone’s health or prosperity

Counselor

Main entry: coun·sel·or

Variant(s): or coun·sel·lor \ˈkau̇n(t)-s(ə-)lər\

Function: noun

Date: 13th century

1: a person who gives advice or counseling 2: lawyer ; specifically : one that gives advice in law and manages cases for clients in court 3: one who has supervisory duties at a summer camp

Just take these three words, add them up and… Voila!

So what is it? No, I don’t work at a summer camp. A Holistic Health Counselor is someone who looks at body, mind, and spiritual well-being as several parts of the same system, and strives to help others figure out how to best piece the puzzle together so that they lead their lives in the best possible condition.

This means my role is to help you (guide you, motivate you, hold you accountable) so that you can live the healthiest, happiest, most fulfilling life possible. It means sitting down to chat and figure out who you want to be, what you want out of this precious life… and how to get it!

Many times people stay stuck where they are unhappy because they don’t believe it’s possible. I won’t tell you it is easy. I won’t say it isn’t scary sometimes. But I can promise you the happy, more balanced and fulfilling life you long for is within your reach, and I’m here to hold your hand as you step out of your comfort zone and into your journey.

5 thoughts on “Holistic. Health. Counselor.

  1. Hey Melody,

    I like your take on defining holistic health counselor. It really is that basic. When you think about too, that’s what holistic health conselor’s do – guide people to get back to the basics.

    Looking forward to reading more from you 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks, James! Really appreciate the feedback.

    My hope is that people realize that having a full life is not as complicated as it seems. We just have to take it one step at a time!

    Like

  3. Melody, I’m very proud of you for following your dream. Sorry I disappeared. I know that you’ll be great at this because I remember how you guided me back to the basics during our Sex in the City/grilled cheese and tomato soup marathons back in our Williamsburg studio days. VERY proud of you for finally taking the leap, I’m confident you will help people look at the big picture and change lives for the better.

    Like

Jump in!!

