What do dolphins and Brian Weiss have in common?

The short answer? They both just re-entered my life in a very interesting way.

Here’s the long one

I’m staying at my friends’ place in Houston, TX and having a great time. Both had moved out of Brooklyn over a year ago and I hadn’t seen them since, so I’m loving this opportunity to reconnect in person.

I don’t know if it’s the place, or the people, or just something I’m doing right. But two things happened in the past couple of days that could be construed as coincidences. I choose to see them as signs pointing me in the right direction.

First, since E, one of my Houston friends, is very interested in having a healing practice combined with her passion for acting and creativity, I recommended she take a look at Aleta St. James. Aleta is an energy healer who combines several modalities such as sound, light, movement and affirmations to balance the chakras. If I’m not mistaken, Aleta had a background in acting so I thought perhaps E could draw some inspiration from her.

That was that, and we moved on to other things.

Hot Sunday in Houston, TX

Hot Sunday in Houston, TX

Tarot Time

On Sunday, I sat down with E and she read my cards next to the swimming pool. She told me my guides were with her, and that she thought my animal spirit was a dolphin. Greatly interested, I made a mental note to myself to research dolphins as animal spirits.

Later that day, I decided to send her a few links to websites I thought she might be interested in, and I included Aleta’s in the list.

The thing is, when I went to Aleta’s website myself and checked out her blog, I learned that she had just come back from a retreat in Bimini, where she had been swimming with dolphins. Not only that, but she had written about dolphins’ energy and healing properties.

Some people might think this is just a coincidence. But this tells me something. I should look into this dolphin thing.

But that’s not all

Yesterday, I asked E to recommend some books to me. I’ll be traveling for a while and spending a lot of time on planes, trains and buses. Books are great.

And the first author she brings up is Brian Weiss. I couldn’t believe it.


(Well, I could because I believe in synchronicity and the universe guiding me. But you know what I mean. It’s hard to get rid of the “That’s so weird!” habit, even when you know there’s nothing weird and everything beautiful about it.)

When I met G, the friend who is no longer a friend, he was all about how I absolutely needed to read Brian Weiss’s books. In fact, he was going to pass me all of his audiobooks so I could listen to them while I travel.

I had filed this author in my head under “things to look into in the future.”  But being that E, brought Brian Weiss back into the present… I went to the bookstore that same day and got one of his books.

I’m excited to see where this takes me.

Jump in!!

