To jump, or not to jump?

Yvonne is heading to Rotorua today, and she offered to give me a ride. This means that I can skip a couple of the stops and catch up with the Stray bus tomorrow.

I won’t get to go to the Waitomo caves or Maketu, but that’s ok. It’s not that I’m not interested in these places, but that I will feel pressured to spend money there and I’m trying to save up for the skydive.

Though, the truth is that Raglan mellowed me out so much that I’m starting to wonder at my reasons to throw myself out of a plane.

It’s funny. I’ve wanted to skydive since I was 16, but never got around to it.

At the beginning of my trip, and especially after the SkyJump in Auckland, I was so excited about the prospect of skydiving. In my opinion, New Zealand is one of the best places to do it. Not only will you have an amazing view pretty much no matter where you are, but it’s also one of only two places where you can skydive from 15,000 feet.*

*The other one is Australia.

But I’m beginning to wonder if I would be doing it just for the thrill. It seems like a lot of money for just a thrill. And what exactly are the reasons why I feel compelled to do this? Is it really necessary?

I don’t know if I want to do it anymore. What am I trying to prove?

Jump in!!

