Orgasmic Dancing: Exercise and Exorcise

When was the last time you let yourself go into your body and let it move whichever way it wants?

Without censoring.

Without allowing self-consciousness about how you may look stop you.

Without a care in the world.

Just. Moving.

Just. Dancing.

I’m going to guess it’s been a while. I know, up until the past year, it had been too long for me.

I had forgotten what it felt like.

Do you remember dancing like this when you were a child?

This was before you learned what dancing was “supposed to look like.” (and who makes those rules, anyway??).

It was fun, wasn’t it? Real fun.

Grounding.

Expressive.

Liberating.

I’d been having somewhat of a down day last Saturday, when I went to the GlobeSonic event at i70, one of the piers in New York City. The DJ’s were spinning from 4 pm til midnight, and a whole bunch of people gathered to sweat, celebrate summer, and relish in our ability to move to the beat.

And it brought home, again, how much of an exorcism dancing can be.

As I got into the music, allowing my body to do its thing, I left all my worries on that floor. All the stress was pushed out of my body through my pores in the form of sweat.

As I connected to all that creativity and sensuality (by which I mean that delicious awareness of your senses that makes you feel alive), I felt the power rising from deep in my belly, up and up, passing behind my heart, and into my throat…

The pressure building and building.

It was orgasmic.

Actually, it was better than orgasmic; I could make it last as long as I kept moving, and gave me the same afterglow.

You can see me practically moaning in this picture:

Spontaneous orgasmic dancing in progress

Wooohooooo!

The pressure was so strong I couldn’t contain the hollering (and from the sounds around me, neither could the rest of the crowd).

My friend Andi was in awe. We’d never hung out in this type of setting before, so she’d never seen me like that.

But I didn’t care. It was something that required expression, and I was free to express it.

After all, that was what the whole shindig was about:

Expressing yourself with your body.

But in a way, I wasn’t really dancing anymore. I wasn’t moving to the music.

I wasn’t in control anymore. The music was.

The music was playing my body.

It was liberating and exhilarating and a total complete and natural high.

There is such beautiful power and connectedness in these… rituals.

And that’s what they are. It’s no coincidence that most cultures developed dances and rituals around them.

There was nothing funny going on. Nothing to laugh about.

Yet I laughed out of the sheer bubble of happiness that couldn’t be contained anymore.

Why not?

So many times we stop ourselves from expressing how we feel because it’s not “the right thing to do” in a particular situation.

Let me ask you… Who cares??? And, again, who makes those rules????

It’s quite an experience to do this with a group of people, giving each other permission to let go and express and leave everything on the dancefloor.

This is why movements like 5Rhythms, a dance/meditation practice based on “sweating your prayers,” are so successful.

But you don’t have to join a group if you don’t feel ready.

So, if you’re ready for some long-lasting dancing orgasms of your own…

Put on your favorite music, close your eyes, and drop into your body in your own living room.

You’ll start off slowly getting into it. Shyly, even though you’re all alone.

Just feel the music and let your body do its thing. You’ll find yourself wanting to dance a particular way at the beginning, and that’s ok.

As you go, you’ll start loosening up. Getting more creative.

Letting go.

Try this for at least 30 minutes.

It’s not only great exercise, but also a magnificent and fun way of exorcising.

Jump in!

What’s your initial reaction to this post? If you tried the exorcise, how did you feel?

Jump in!!

