Nutrition: Make Your Salad Exciting ~ Peach-Basil Vinaigrette

Garden of Eve, the Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) farm I am a member of, has been showering us with peaches all season.

I thought I couldn’t handle even one more peach in my system, but it turns out I was wrong.

I just couldn’t handle it in peach form, or in smoothie form. But I had ran out of the delicious honey-mustard vinaigrette I usually make, and I felt like having something new.

And so, the peach-basil vinaigrette recipe I’m about to share with you was born.

After posting an update on my Facebook and Twitter about my new invention, I got such a great response from everyone that I decided so much curiosity should be rewarded.

Super easy, refreshing and yummy, this vinaigrette will add another dimension to your salads.

Let’s get to the health info first

With all the Vitamins C, B1, B2, B9, betacarotenes, and minerals such as iron and potassium, peaches are great for skin, cardiovascular and kidney health. They make you glow, help regulate intestinal and hepatic functions, lower cholesterol and maintain alkalinity in the blood.

Plus, they are deliciously sweet and, combined with the freshness of the basil, make a killer salad dressing.

So what about the basil?

Well, this fragrant herb has been shown to protect cell structures and chromosomes from radiation and oxygen damage, as well  as having anti-bacterial properties that will ensure that your greens can be safely eaten when you add it to your salad. Basil’s volatile oils can also work as an anti-inflammatory, as they block the same enzyme as OTC medications such as ibuprofen, naproxen and acetaminophen.

Like the peaches, basil is also packed with betacarotenes in the form of pro-Vitamn A which act as antioxidants against free radicals.

Lastly, the high amounts of magnesium in basil help cardiovascular health by encouraging muscles and blood vessels to relax resulting in better blood flow.

Now that you know that this salad dressing both delightfully yummy and give your health a boost, let me show you exactly how stupidly easy this is to make.

The recipe

Ingredients:

1 peach (peeled and pitted)

2 leaves of fresh basil

1 1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Salt to taste (you can add pepper if you want as well, though I didn’t think it needed it)

Preparation:

Just dunk all the ingredients in the blender and blend away.

That’s it!

 

Well, look at that! This is a pretty short post, especially considering that mine tend to be neverending.

Ok. ok.

I’m gonna hit ‘publish’ before I figure out a way to make it longer.

2 thoughts on “Nutrition: Make Your Salad Exciting ~ Peach-Basil Vinaigrette

Jump in!!

