Pleasure, Our Highest Responsibility

Pleasure is our highest responsibility. It’s so easy to be down

– Jena LaFlamme (The juicy goddess behind Pleasurable Weight Loss)

 

Hello, delicious readers!

Today I’m going to share a bit about responsibility, pleasure, and choice. It’s what’s been on my plate again lately. This cycle keeps repeating itself, and each time I get a new scrumptious morsel of insight.

So what’s going on?

After periods of utter awesomeness, I find myself being more lax in reigning over my thoughts instead of the opposite. I forget, relax and slowly my mind sneaks up on me and I let it run my emotions and therefore my actions.

I don’t feel like taking charge. I don’t feel like going to the gym or to yoga. I don’t feel like answering all those e-mails or calling my mother.

[Insert your version here]

I start acting from that place, instead of acting from what is important to me.

And so it happens that after a while of suffering through this, I start noticing what goes through my mind when I wake up in the morning.

There is a brief moment of getting our bearings, looking out the window and marveling. And then… I can almost hear our mind whir into life. A nanosecond later, it begins:

I have to call So-and-so today
Oh, crap! I didn’t finish that project
Why hasn’t he called?
What am I supposed to do?
Ahh… Too many things to do and not enough time
Is this what life is supposed to be like?
What do I want?
Why isn’t life working for me?

Etc etc etc

And pretty soon, whatever wonder was there about being alive is well and properly killed.

It doesn’t take much to let every day be like this. Taking the victim role, instead of taking responsibility for feeling good.

I’ve had many days in which I don’t realize I have a choice. And, after so many, I’ve come to see that the only thing that will get me out of that kind of funk is…

Choosing to get out of the funk. Making a commitment to reframe the way I view things and the way I view myself.

It is so easy to let ourselves be sad, or feel like people or the world are against us. It comes so naturally.

Finding pleasure in everything, no matter what life throws at us, is a practice.

As Jena so wisely says, pleasure is our highest responsibility.

The delightful Luke Simon was talking about free will in his yoga class on Monday, and it occurred to me that perhaps this choice we have to take responsibility and choose to feel good every time is why it was granted to us in the first place.

Let’s exercise it consciously.

And with that, I’m off to the beach!

With love and pleasure always,

 

Melody

One thought on “Pleasure, Our Highest Responsibility

  1. Right on Melody!

    I find myself slipping into negative thought patterns all the time. It’s funny how when we look back, say 10 or 20 years, we wax poetic about it as if those times were somehow better. Well, it’s clear to me that those moments were also made of a bunch of “now” moments…so….today I choose to create some magic…and I will.

    Thank you again for chiming in. Your message was well received πŸ™‚

    Like

Jump in!!

