Why Not Rushing Is Always Better

I just had a fantastic massage, and was contemplating whether to follow my original plan of going to synagogue for the first Shabbat of the Jewish year.

The traditionalist in me felt it would be good to do that out of… tradition.

But this other something in me just wanted to sit and lounge and have a cup of tea, and maybe read a few more pages of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (awesome book, by the way!).

In keeping with my (re)commitment to slowness and not rushing, I listened.

At first, I thought I’d go to one of my favorite places and have an alfajor de maizena (an Argentinian gluten free treat), but I walked in and my body was a ‘no.’

I promptly left and wondered down another street to a place where I wasn’t sure they would sit me without ordering dinner. They said I couldn’t have a table, but I could sit in the back or on the front porch.

I checked out the back patio, and there were some people having a very intense NYstyle discussion.

‘No.’

So I went back to the front, and sat on the porch with my tea.. and this guy who was playing guitar and practicing for his solo show tonight.

‘Perfect!’

So I sat, and sipped, and listened as I watched people walk by and brighten up when they heard him play.

It’s always so much better when I slow down, put the ‘shoulds’ aside, and listen.

I’m really enjoying this not rushing thing.

And the funny thing is, this is more in keeping with Shabbat than if I had hurried to make it to services. After all, Shabbat is about rest and reconnection.

And now I still get to go meet my synagogue community for dinner.

Best of both worlds.

What would be possible for you if you stopped rushing?

IMG_2495.JPG

Jump in!!

